Doing Theology when God is Forgotten: The Theological Achievement of Wolf Kroetke

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Abstract

Wolf Krötke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Krötke's contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationNew York, Berlin
PublisherPeter Lang Pub.
Number of pages263
ISBN (Print)0-8204-7874-1, 978-0820478746
Publication statusPublished - 2 Nov 2006

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics of 'Doing Theology when God is Forgotten: The Theological Achievement of Wolf Kroetke'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this