Doing Theology when God is Forgotten: The Theological Achievement of Wolf Kroetke

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Abstract

Wolf Krötke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Krötke's contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationNew York, Berlin
PublisherPeter Lang Pub.
Number of pages263
ISBN (Print)0-8204-7874-1, 978-0820478746
Publication statusPublished - 2 Nov 2006

Fingerprint

Theology
Theological Method
Christian Churches
Atheism
Deity
Christian Faith
Cultural Landscape
Church-state Separation
Germany
Dietrich Bonhoeffer
Karl Barth
Theologians
German Democratic Republic

Cite this

Doing Theology when God is Forgotten : The Theological Achievement of Wolf Kroetke. / Ziegler, Philip.

New York, Berlin : Peter Lang Pub., 2006. 263 p.

Research output: Book/ReportBook

@book{e2c13db211b84f299503adcb96f8e3c5,
title = "Doing Theology when God is Forgotten: The Theological Achievement of Wolf Kroetke",
abstract = "Wolf Kr{\"o}tke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Kr{\"o}tke's contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.",
author = "Philip Ziegler",
year = "2006",
month = "11",
day = "2",
language = "English",
isbn = "0-8204-7874-1",
publisher = "Peter Lang Pub.",

}

TY - BOOK

T1 - Doing Theology when God is Forgotten

T2 - The Theological Achievement of Wolf Kroetke

AU - Ziegler, Philip

PY - 2006/11/2

Y1 - 2006/11/2

N2 - Wolf Krötke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Krötke's contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.

AB - Wolf Krötke is widely acknowledged to be the most important theologian to emerge from the struggle of the churches in the former East Germany. Working creatively in the tradition of Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer, he reconsiders the contours of Christian faith in face of the challenges posed by the regnant atheism and cultural disestablishment that continue to shape the cultural landscape of Eastern Germany. This book explores in detail Krötke's contributions to contemporary reflection upon the identity of God, humanity, and the Christian church and, in so doing, sheds light upon questions of theological method important in any context.

M3 - Book

SN - 0-8204-7874-1

SN - 978-0820478746

BT - Doing Theology when God is Forgotten

PB - Peter Lang Pub.

CY - New York, Berlin

ER -